It Doesn’t Take Long to Miss Her Now (a love poem for Angela)

PhotoGrid_1405669326875

It doesn’t take long to miss her now

It used to take  longer

When I was used to it

A thousand miles between us

And weeks at a time

I was so busy

And the diesel engine so loud

Missing her didn’t even occur to me until my work boots were off

And the night was too quiet

In whatever flophouse motel I found on the road

But now it is different

I see her every day

I lay by her every night

As I will be moments from now

If more than twenty miles separates us

It is a rare occurrence

After but a few hours away

I feel the longing

Because it doesn’t take long to miss her now

 

Luke Austin Daugherty-

Originally typed on a Smith Corona Super Sterling typewriter at 3:38 a.m.

Copyright 2014

Leave a Reply

